Anxiety & A Good Word

a-to-z-letters-a“Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs it down, but a good word makes it glad.” Proverbs 12:25

FICTION: Everyone else lives a perfect Facebook life except you.

FACT: Anxiety is an inevitable companion for most people.

I am blessed to be on the women’s prayer team at our church, and nothing has become clearer to me than the fact that everyone has problems.

People may smile, post pictures online & give the impression that they have it all together, but behind that thin outer layer are other layers. Pain. Hurt. Depression. Problems of life. Some small ones. Many times big ones. Even the kind that make you not want to get out of bed.

But oh, aren’t you so glad that the above Scripture doesn’t leave us there. Alone. Weighted down with anxiety.

Gladness, it says, is in a good word.

Writers are all about words and word count. And the power of those words.

I pray that I may be used by the Lord to write and speak good words. Because there are many a day when I find myself in need of one as well.

What anxiety weighs you down today? Do you need a bit of gladness? I encourage you to look in the Word of God.

Then, give a good word to someone else. You never know the weight that they carry around and the difference that one word can make.

9 thoughts on “Anxiety & A Good Word”

  1. Hi! My name is Becky and I found you on the very long list of A-Z participants. I am writing along a similar theme and look forward to reading your posts this month!
    Ah, anxiety… Just in the past month, I have been challenged to let go of my people pleasing tendencies and truly see them for what they are. I think my desire to please others has been at the root of any anxiety that I have had. And I am saying, “no more!” I do not want to live that way. So thank you for sharing this post and may this challenge be a blessing to you!

    Like

    1. Becky, thanks for finding me on the long list. 🙂
      And for the insight. It’s funny how people can be so different yet struggle with very similar things. It gives us rather a connectedness.
      Blessings to you as well!

      Like

  2. Hi! I’m Amy and i also found you through A to Z (I’m also a friend of Becky’s – she has a great blog). Thank you for this good word today. Anxiety is most likely inevitable, but it doesn’t have to be as strong or long-lasting as we let it be. I hope that you are blessed and receive many good words throughout this challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

