Dos and Donts

a-to-z-letters-dWe live in a complicated world, full of choices. The have tos and their cousins, shoulda, woulda & coulda fill my day.

It’s too much for my little brain.

Some days I’d like to go to a place where I don’t need to think about what time to get up, where to go, what to do and what’s for dinner. Oh that’s right, that’s the loony bin. Hmmm… there are days where it’s tempting.

Nevertheless, in my attempts to simplify, I have come up with what I feel is a short list of Do’s and Don’ts. The things that bog me down and the things that set me free.

Don’ts:
Diet – that nasty four letter word. I can’t eat this. I should eat this. Low fat, low-calorie, high fiber, low glycemic, gluten-free, taste free. When I get down to eating food that tastes like cardboard, am I on the right track? I say to myself, precious, just chill. I just need simple, baby step lifestyle changes I can confidently implement.

Drama – I have two teenagers. Need I say more? My life is full of drama. I would say, “save your drama for your mama” but I am the mama! I can’t change the performance, but I can choose whether to pick a part in their tragedy or not.

Depression – It is not by choice that anyone enters this road. But life can sometimes get the best of any ordinarily sane person. If putting on your adult panties doesn’t solve it, get help.

Dos:
Delight – When the don’ts have threatened to take up residence in my mind, there is nothing better than time in God’s Word. Scripture never ceases to give me peace in the midst of any storm.

Desire –As He calms my anxiousness, even my heart’s desire begins to change. To walk with God, to know Him intimately. Truly, what else is there?

“Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

7 thoughts on “Dos and Donts”

  1. I think my two cents =’s your two cents 🙂 I agree wholeheartedly with all of your do’s and don’ts! I’m mama to two teenagers, too and sometimes they can drive me to wishing I could take a vaca at the loony bin 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

