Meditation and Gobstoppers

a-to-z-letters-mThe other day I sat down to work on a project that has been dragging on for a really long time. In determination, I assigned myself an hour a day to tackle it until it was finished.

Then I started.

After 20 minutes I was checking Facebook. I yelled at myself profusely for this pittance of an effort, then attempted to work again.

Too late. My focus was shot. After 20 minutes.

So pitiful that it was all I had. Are you kidding me?

You see, probably like most of you, I have been technoligized and internet assaulted. My brain does NOT have the ability to function on one thing and only one thing at a time.

I’m a ten tabber. At least. Not to mention the numerous sticky notes and other programs open simultaneously on my desktop. They keep my Things To Do list company.

Focus on one thing? THAT would be a luxury.

And yet, that’s exactly what I think of when I consider the word “meditate”. Let something, one thing, ruminate around your brain. Think about it so long and so deeply you digest into your soul and it becomes a part of who you are.

Like sucking on a Wonka Everlasting Gobstopper jawbreaker. You just can’t bite it – at least without completely destroying your teeth. I know. I’ve tried. I like them. I’m just impatient.

But a Gobstopper changes colors and flavors as you work through the different layers. If you could just chew it up, you’d miss all that.
Meditating is a lot like that. It’s the savoring of the passage, letting it have its way with your heart until it has done its work.

Joshua 1:8 says, “This book of the law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it; for then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have success.”

Did you catch the layers? Meditation on God’s Word causes us to obey, be prosperous and have success. That’s some pretty good layers.

Don’t miss it today. There’s no shortcut to success, which is in the middle. Slow your mind and body down enough today to enjoy each flavor.

8 thoughts on “Meditation and Gobstoppers”

  1. Hm, I will need to try meditating whilst eating Gobstoppers ~ sounds like a plan.

    Popped by as an AtoZ Mighty Minion.

    thriftshopcommando.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. What a great metaphor! I, too, have that same issue with having too many things on my mind at one time…perhaps, I’ll buy a box of gobstoppers.

    Cheers from Brandy at brandysbustlings.blogspot.ca

    Like

  3. I have the same problem !! Cant handle one task without getting distracted !! I have seriously tried meditation but then I get distracted while trying to meditate too !

    Like

  4. Love how you worked gobbstoppers into your meditation post, and you are so right! Must. stop. and. smell. the. roses. in order to continue on with the mountain of tasks at hand. Sometimes, it gets overwhelming and the only way to re-energize is to stop. 🙂
    Jai

    Like

  5. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

