Overwhelmed by His Goodness

A packed crowd of familiar faces from my past assaulted my senses when I opened the front door of my sister’s house. We were conveniently there on vacation for my 50th birthday. Little did I know that my husband and my sister had been plotting this surprise.

Tears instantly sprang to my eyes as I scanned all the faces. I was humbled that each person one would take the time to celebrate with me.

I hugged and cried my way around the room, greeting each and every guest. And with each person I felt overwhelmed.

And I wondered why. Why on earth would all these people congregate for me? I didn’t feel special. I felt very ordinary. But that day was anything but. It is a day I will never forget.

When I look back at the pictures, the emotions rise to the surface once more. Some precious friends I hadn’t seen in many, many years and it was a sweet reunion. For my step mother in a wheelchair battling cancer, it was the last time I’d ever get to hug her.

Some events like this can overwhelm us with sweet, strokes of emotion that soothe our aching soul. Other times, life is not so nice. It overwhelms us with trials and pain that threaten to drown us.

In Psalm 61:1-2, David says, “Hear my cry, O God, Give heed to my prayer. From the end of the earth I call to Thee, when my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”

There are some seasons in life, where this has been my daily cry of desperation. And God never disappoints. He hears me. Even from the ends of the earth.

Today is young and may surely overwhelm me, so for now, I think I will sit just a little longer on the Rock. With the God who overwhelms me with His goodness.

3 thoughts on “Overwhelmed by His Goodness”

Leave a Reply

