Plateaus

A three day drive from upstate New York to southern California with five young kids in a station wagon and a self-made rickety trailer in tow was not exactly a sightseeing haven. But that was just how my dad rolled when he moved us across country.

He also didn’t believe in spending money on hotels. So, we sat in the car by day and slept in the car at night. That was long before seat belt laws. Only thing holding us in was all the other bodies and stuff. But I was young and didn’t care.

I only remember two things about that trip.

One – the “trailer” promptly broke its axle and dropped dead upon our arrival. That was a miracle.

Two – we drove through Texas for a really long time. It seemed every time I’d wake up and ask, “where are we?” I’d hear, “Texas.”

Life is like that. Some scenery is beautiful but short lived. Others? Well, they seem to drag on forever like the state of Texas.

I think of these seasons of life-like a plateau. Flat, long and not much happening. Not that I prefer valleys mind you, but a little mountain scenery is enjoyable. Even off in the distance. To give you hope.

Too long in the flatlands and you start to believe that God has forgotten you and you will be in that state forever. A lone tumbleweed rolls by confirming your desolation. The only road signs along the highway are… Restlessness. Impatience. Frustration. Anger. Discouragement.

But as much as we feel like our life is stuck in Texas forever, it does eventually move on. God’s timing is just not our timing.

I have recently left what I was sure was a never-ending plateau. Where my soul ached for God to move but He didn’t. Little did I know that even though the road I was on was one big pot hole after another, He was preparing the path ahead of me.

Psalm 37:23 says, “The steps of a man are established by the Lord when he delights in his way.”

I confess that at times I was less than delighting in the way. Alright, I experienced every road sign of emotion possible, but fortunately God’s faithfulness does not depend on mine.

I still don’t like plateaus or that feeling of going nowhere but since God brought me out of this one, maybe I will have more hope for the next one.

6 thoughts on “Plateaus”

  1. Oh my goodness! Me too! I am just seeing the light at the end of a very long and dark trial and I see God moving and working in amazing ways. It is so refreshing after a dry-spell! 🙂

    Like

  2. Mary, I so understand about those long trips! They do seem forever, and you’re right, it is a lot like life. It’s a good reminder that eventually, we’ll be in a better place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

