Quiet Please

When my children were little, like any good mother at the end of a loud chaotic day, I would often ask them to play the “quiet game”. No, it didn’t take long for them to catch on that this was no game. It was just a way for me to save my diminishing sanity.

Quiet was a word that was very foreign to me for many years. With two very verbal little ones I often felt like I had two completely different radio stations playing, one in each ear, all day long. By evening, when they finally crashed for the night, I coveted the sound of nothing. Of course I was usually too tired by then to enjoy it.

I tried to get up early to have a bit of quiet time to read my Bible before the two noise makers got up. But no matter what time it was, I was almost always immediately met with the pitter patter of little feet.

My kids are all grown up now, and although they themselves may be quieter, the walls do occasionally resonate with the vibrations of blaring music. But, at least they are not morning people, so that time is all mine. And all quiet.

Maybe that is why Psalm 23 is one of my favorite passages in Scripture. I actually plan to paint it on the wall of my novel room. Verse 2 says that the Lord as our Shepherd “leads us beside quiet waters.”

Oh, I like the sound of that.

Imagine no beeps from texts or Facebook notifications. No phones ringing. No TVs or iPods blaring. No dogs barking. No talking or bickering. No street traffic. No nothing. Except occasionally the trickle of water as it slips over some rocks.

The novel room is my most favorite spot in our home. In my comfy chair in this sun room I have a panoramic view of green trees, a small creek and an assortment of wild life that wander through. And as I take it in, my heart and senses are at peace and say aaah. Calming. Like the quiet waters that our Shepherd leads us to.

When it rains and the creek is full, I can hear the water drifting downstream ever so gently. And I realize that as much as my ears crave physical quiet, my heart craves a spiritual quiet. To soothe my soul. Yes Lord, lead me beside quiet waters.

Do you have a time and place for quiet in your life?

3 thoughts on “Quiet Please”

  1. I definitely have SPACE for quiet in my life, but I can’t always find the place. As much as I love being a mom, one of my most quiet times is when all of the kids are out of the house for awhile, and I can just rest in the peace of my home.

    SiouxsiesMusings

    #atoZChallenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

