Vision Check Up

How’s your vision? Since I just went to the eye doctor yesterday, the answer for me is . . . not so good. Then again, that’s not surprising since I haven’t updated my prescription in five years and I spend a lot of time on the computer.

But besides my physical eyesight, I find that my spiritual vision occasionally needs a check up too.

Using our human eyes we naturally tend to have a human perspective on life. We see circumstances visually with our eyes and sense experiences with our feelings. When life is ugly, it wears us down.

If we see a battleground before us and feel like an injured and weary warrior limping to the finish line, we won’t be running any races. There aren’t any victory dances in our step. There’s only the thought, can I get up and take one more step?

Thus what we see with our natural senses control what we think, and how we act. But what if there’s another way?

Psalm 16:8 says “I have set the Lord continually before me, because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

We can’t always change what’s around us. Sometimes all that’s in our view is pain and problems. But we can choose what aspect of it deserves our focus. Like in the above verse.

I HAVE SET implies a purposeful choice. Sure, the Lord is omnipresent. He is before us and all around us all the time. But this is different. It refers more to a focused decision. This is an intentional perspective. Like choosing what goes in the background and what in the foreground of your sight.

BEFORE ME. When you drive a car, although you constantly sweep your mirrors to be aware of what is happening around you, your eyes are primarily fixed in front of you. Why? Because that’s where you’re going. Those things impact you the most. So, if the Lord is before me, then He is directly in my view. Much of life’s issues get blocked by His presence.

CONTINUALLY. Not just today. Or this hour. But every moment of the day. That is the tricky part, isn’t it? I feel like Peter walking on the water. One moment my eyes are fixed on Him, then as I consider the peril of the situation, my focus shifts away and I begin to drown. Thus the necessity of continual.

As a result of doing this, the Psalmist states, we will not be shaken.

How’s your vision today? What are you choosing to place front and center in your vantage point? Is it time for a spiritual eye exam?

3 thoughts on “Vision Check Up”

  1. I just wrote today about how mindlessness can be our enemy and that it is so important to be intentional. What a great verse to keep that in mind,.

    Like

Leave a Reply

