Yield for greater yield

Baking is one of my hobbies that my whole family enjoys the fruits of. Over the years, I have learned a few things.

Number one – high altitude is not my friend. I’ve tried all the tricks – less butter, less sugar (that alone should be enough to cause Julia Child to roll over in her grave) and more flour. Sometimes it helps. Sometimes it doesn’t. I go with it. I try to get away with saying, “I meant to do that. I know how much you like your cookies flat and extra crispy.”

Number two – under no circumstances should I consider baking for someone else without a bit of the bounty being left for the family. I can’t tell you how many times I heard, “who is that for” as they entered the kitchen with hope. Their pouty little faces upon being left out wasn’t worth it.

So, now I just double everything. It’s called yield control.

I need enough to feed three normal size adults and one ginormous mutant teenage son who consumes a Mass X shake with 1200 calories between meals. There is no such thing as full with him. He gets hungry getting up from the dinner table to carry his plate to the kitchen.

Thus yield control.

I double recipes. Sometimes I triple them. I create a chart of exactly how much flour, eggs and sugar I need at Christmas time to make cookies. No, I am not kidding.

Life is about yield control too. We put the right ingredients in to it to get the final product we desire.

Just like the high altitude causes my baked goods to sink, sometimes issues I can’t control can cause my attitude to tank. The result may be a little flat and extra crispy. That’s okay. I’m a work in progress.

Romans 6:13 says, “…yield yourselves unto God, as those that are alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness unto God.”

Interestingly, a life “yielded” to Christ produces a better “yield”. Funny how that works, isn’t it? He does the work through us, we get the benefit.

4 thoughts on “Yield for greater yield”

  1. I loved your post. 🙂 I remember trying to bake when I lived in the mountains. If I forgot to find a special recipe, most baked goods would turn out a little funny. 🙂 And it’s smart that you make extras so the family doesn’t have to watch those delicious treats walk away without being tasted. 🙂

    Have fun with z.

    Like

  2. Love this. I’m a baker too, and my family has wondered too, why most of the baked goods leave the house. 🙂 Baking is nurturing, isn’t it? Brings everyone around the kitchen. I’m struggling with yielding to circumstances at the moment, but trying to remember God is in charge.
    from The Dugout

    Like

Leave a Reply

