Hate is like leftover meatloaf

“Therefore, be imitators of God and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.” Ephesians 5:1-2

I can’t help but think that in modern vernacular, this would be translated… don’t be a hater!

What is so amazing about God is that even if I think I’m not a hater, He shines a spotlight on lurking attitudes and justified judgementalism fermenting in the bottom of my heart.

I often face these moments in utter surprise like finding that leftover meatloaf that I made last month in the back of the fridge, no longer recognizable. Oooh, how’d that get there? Pokes item suspiciously… And what is that?

Of course, God knew it was there all along. Growing, festering. Needing to be dealt with. Like the perfect gentleman, He doesn’t take it out and throw it at me. Instead He creates a longing in me to be more like Him. This of course, leads to a “okay you asked for it” deeper cleaning.

So, what has He been cleaning out lately? The misconception that I think I love people. What? Of course I do. Generally. Mostly. Except for them. And then not always. Yeah okay, I’ve got a way to go.

What I’m realizing though is God takes His word pretty seriously. And when He says to love all, He really means all. All the time. So, how do I do that?

First, don’t be a hater. Don’t put it in Tupperware and store in the back of my heart for later. It only gets uglier.

Second, as the verse above says, imitate Christ. Well, that’s enough steps for me because that will take me the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

